Fan Mail: Business Advice

March 6, 2010

Hi There,

I think you’re fantastic on the Housewives show and have been watching carefully for anything I may pick up from you.  I am a struggling mother of two and have been trying for a while now to buy wholesale and then resell it for a profit.  I sell a few things online to make some extra money and then I search and search the web looking for other avenues for wholesale items.  Do you have any adcice for me in find the resources to do this and what are the best ways to re-sell the products?

Thanks very much for your time!  Catherine

Dear Catherine,

The start of any business is tough at first, but if you keep at it and continue to look for more leads the way you have done here, you will find them!  I would suggest checking out trade magazines and newspapers for overstock inventory.  You can also call stores or brand manufacturers and inquire about any inventory they may need to unload.  Factories often times have excess of a production or “Over-Runs” as they are sometimes called, you can spend time calling apparel factories and leaving your contact information should they ever need to sell off any extra clothing.

More important than your inventory is your relationship you develop with buyers.  These people will be the deciders on whether or not you make your sales!  Build a trusting, professional relationship with them and you will do great business.  I remember a very long time ago when I first started out, I made my first buyer contacts by purchasing a closeout retailers directory book.  I’m sure they still have these.  Also, there is an annual tradeshow in Las Vegas you can attend and meet off-price buyers and sellers alike.

I hope this is helpful to many of the business inquiries I receive.  Best of luck to you!  Wishing you the best of success in your new-found business, Ramona

One Response to “Fan Mail: Business Advice”

  1. Mari said

    Hi,
    I admire your business ethics. I am a horticulturist and have a life long dream of owning my own nursery. I make less than $20,000 a year and I don’t have any collateral, but I’m not deep in debt. I don’t own property. I’m working on a business plan to get the ball rolling. I would like to try to get a grant to buy land and build greenhouses, etc.. I’m interested in wholesale sales and internet sales. What steps do I need to take? Is it possible for someone like me that doesn’t have much but has the passion to make this dream come true?

    Thanks for your time,
    Mari

Leave a Reply

