3 Days till Christmas…

December 22, 2010

My favorite holiday is finally days away! Even with my hectic schedule, I have been nothing less than giddy while I await Christmas. I do not know what it is about the magical feeling that Christmas brings, but each and every year, for as long as I can remember,  I have always been the first one to get into the Christmas spirit.

My favorite thing to do in preparation for Christmas is of course, cooking. I love teaching Avery our family recipes and seeing how excited she gets for the holidays. Our favorite thing to make (and eat) is Butter Sugar Cookies. Here is our family recipe for you and yours (and Santa) to enjoy:

CHRISTMAS BUTTER SUGAR COOKIES (makes about 36 cookies)

Ingredients:
-16 tablespoons (2 sticks) unsalted butter at room temperature  (very soft to touch)
-3/4 cup sugar
-1 large egg
-1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
-2 1/2 cups all purpose flour, plus more the work surface
-1/4 teaspoon baking soda
-1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
Preparation:
-heat over 350 degrees F
-beat the butter and sugar in a bowl of an electric mixer on medium high until smooth. Add the egg and beat until fluffy, about 2 minutes. Add the vanilla. Reduce mixer to speed low.
-Combine the flour, baking soda, and salt in a bowl and add it slowly to the butter mixture, mixing until just incorporated (dough will be stiff). Divide dough into 2 rounds balls and refrigerate for 30 minutes.
-Roll the dough on a floured surface (also dust with flour the rolling pin)  to 1/4 till 1/4 inch think. Cut into shapes and place onto baking sheets.
Sprinkle cookies with colored sugar crystals. The scraps can be combined and rolled out again. Bake 10-12 minutes until edges are golden brown. Cool slightly on baking sheets before transferring to cooling racks.
enjoy!!!

Me at work in the kitchen

Christmas Butter Sugar Cookies

My other favorite thing to do for Christmas is decorate my surroundings with the beautifully themed Christmas colors, intricate flower arrangements and one of a kind ornaments. Here are a few pictures of  my most memorable Christmas decorations:

Home made wreathe for our Hamptons home

12 Feet Tall Christmas Tree

A closer look at the ornaments

A lovely flower arrangement I had made for a holiday party

Avery and I with Santa picking out poinsettas in the South Hamptons

Now that I have shared my most memorable Christmas moments with you I would love to see your top three Christmas photos from your family. Please send your photos to my Facebook or Twitter and I will post them on my blog.

Merry Christmas to you from the Singer Family.

 

xo,

Ramona

2 Responses to “3 Days till Christmas…”

  1. Lori Hardwick said

    Dear Ramona, You are such an inspiration to me. You are beautiful, sophisticated and loving. Don’t ever change. Loved the “old” Ramona but the “renewed” Ramona is even sweeter! Merry Christmas, with love, your friend and fan from Michigan…Lori

  2. maricela said

    IT LOOKED LIKE YOU HAD FUN BAKING COOKIES! THEY LOOKED GOOD!

Leave a Reply

