The Making of Ramona Pinot Grigio

May 16, 2011

Since appearing on Real Housewives of NYC my love for Pinot Grigio has been broadcasted for the world to see.  Each week over the past three years I have received thousands of email from fans specifically asking about what my favorite Pinot Grigio is, where I buy my wine and of course how I developed a love for Pinot Grigio.  The truth is after all my years of drinking Pinot I have yet to find the perfect bottle!  Being a business woman and entrepreneur I decided why not create my very own Pinot Grigio.  I knew once I decided to do this I had to be involved in every step of the process as this product will truly reflect my personal tastes.  Now that the Pinot has been created I could not be happier as every tireless minute and hour was worth the final product.  I partnered with Opici Wines to create the best version of the Pinot possible as they have hundreds of wines in their portfolio and are the best at what they do.

I was very specific when I was first creating the taste, I wanted something great, true to the Pinot Grigio flavor without a bite at the end.  The notes needed to be fresh, fruity and crisp.    It took weeks to finalize based upon on all the sample tastings until we got it right.  Before beginning the process of mass production of the product I did blind taste tests with my girlfriends.  Hands down Ramona Singer Pinot Grigio was preferred each and every time.  My Pinot Grigio was produced from grapes grown in the Veneto area of Northern Italy.  The vines ranged in age from 15-20 years old in soil of calcareous origin that is rich in limestone.  The grapes were hand-picked and immediately crushed upon reception at the cellar.  The next process is the fermentation of the wine in stainless steel tanks which took 15 days.  The wine was then filtered and fined before resting in a temperature controlled tank for 2-3 months.

Once we had the perfect Pinot I worked on packaging.  It had to be elegant, regal and classic.  I knew I wanted gold foil packaging to compliment the color of the Pinot Grigio and the rest really fell into place.  I had dozens of bottles mocked up with different versions of the label and choosing one was simply based on what I thought truly embodied the taste of my Pinot.  Not only was the front label important, the back label and top cover all were hand selected and designed per the vision I was going for.  In addition to the bottle labels I worked on the case design for retailers, promotion pieces and case cards.  Every piece tied to the launch of my Pinot Grigio had to look cohesive and really reflect this new business I was building under the Ramona Singer umbrella.

Almost as important of the taste of the wine itself was the price point of the bottle.  I wanted everyone to be able to sit back, relax and enjoy the best Pinot Grigio on the market today.  Retailing around $13.99, the Pinot Grigio can be bought and enjoyed by anyone.  Perhaps some people will drink it because they love Pinot Grigio like me or some to see what I have been raving about, either way ENJOY! There were many people involved in the process from start to finish and I could not be happier or more thankful for their time and help.  This is a wine that can be enjoyed anytime, anywhere and with anything!

Ask your local wine and spirits store to purchase your own bottle of my Pinot Grigio or visitwww.OpiciWines.com/Ramona to find your nearest retailer or to order online today. For details on appearances, tastings, news and to send in your personal photos of yourself and friends having “Turtle Time”, please visit the Ramona Pinot Grigio Facebook fanpage.

15 Responses to “The Making of Ramona Pinot Grigio”

  1. Dede Warren said

    Yay Ramona! Good luck, and happy wine making… so glad you’re doing what you love!

  2. Zara mirza said

    Hi Ramona ,

    My name is zara I am you are my favourite I love watching real housewife of new York city . I don’t drink but when I saw your Pinot grigio wine I recomemnded my husband to have Pinot grIgio wine for my little daughters birthday party.

    I love you Ramona u rock

    I wish you good luck

    zara Mirza

  3. venitra said

    Ramona.

    The wine is awesome. One of the best Pinot Grigio’s I’ve ever tasted…

  4. FLG said

    Ramona,
    My complements to you. You’ve worked very hard and have achieved much success. You didn’t sit back and expect success to come calling you. I believe you should retaliate! Don’t let Countess Squash Blossom High Horse, Jealous Jill and Kelly mislabel you! You go girl! I’m just one of your MANY cheerleaders! We have great respect and admiration for you! Living well is the best revenge!

  5. Kathy Hubish said

    Ramona,
    I contacted you on twitter of where I can find ur wine & i’m in one of the states that have it.
    Wooo! So excited to head out to Hienens!
    Best,
    Kathy

  6. Margaret said

    I love Pinot Grigio and I definitely plan to try this! Best of luck with your new venture, Ramona!

  7. kat said

    Just wondering, since your an established business woman, if you suddenly became disabled and found yourself bed ridden as I am, how would you make money. I’m on disability, but would rather be making money myself. I have several auto immune diseases and can’t do many physical things. Do you have any suggestions for me as to how to be a productive member of society? I need some value in my life. I run a chronic pain group, but that’s pretty small. Thanks and Congrats on your wine!

  8. Tess said

    I wish I loved white wine but I don’t unfortunately otherwise I would check out your wine. I am California wine snob with Pinot Noir. Pinot is the best too. But, you cannot make a good Pinot in Italy unfortunately…:( I would love to see you branch out….
    You are an inspiring lady. I do like your personality and drive. Keep being you.
    All the best,
    SVG

  9. wayne said

    Hi Ramona! Just wanted to let you know that I think your wine is fabulous!! It is sure to become the wine of choice at all of my parties! I have even given it to a friend at a house warming party and she loved it too. Pinot Grigio Santa Marghe what???? Ramona Singer Pinot Grigio all the way! Keep up the great work!!

  10. cristhiane said

    Luv u Ramona! Youre my favorite, I love your energy and your hapiness! I think your fabulous. I can’t wait to try your wine 🙂

  11. Anita said

    Hi Romona I ‘love love love the Pinot!! You go girl!!

  12. Bonnie said

    Ramona,
    I have been bugging both of the wine stores in my area for months and one of them finally got your wine in. I Love It!!
    My husband really likes it also, and he is a red wine man.
    I now have a new favorite wine.
    Thank you so much!!
    Bonnie

  13. Lorraine Chapman said

    HI Ramona, you are the happy,go lucky best personality of the show. I wish you great success with the Pino Grogio and dont ever change the way you are. You are a great inspiration to all women.

  14. Amanda George said

    I love you!!!! I am searching everywhere for your wine in Houston!!

Leave a Reply

