Newport Wine Festival 2011

August 29, 2011

Hi everyone! What a crazy few weeks it has been! I think I have spent most of my time on airplanes. I have traveled  from Virginia to Houston to California! Its been so great being able to spend the summer meeting fans from all over the country. One of my favorite trips was to Newport, Rhode Island. Not only was I able to do two tastings and signings but Ramona Pinot Grigio was featured in the Newport Wine Festival.  I was so honored and excited to attend. This also ranked as one of my top trips because I was able to spend it with Mario!  We stayed at the Viking Hotel in the Marble House suite. So beautiful! It was one of those rooms you want to just stay in, relax and enjoy! But there was so much to do! We were able to easily go from destination to destination as Audi had provided a car and driver for us!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I spent Friday afternoon touring the mansions. I asked my fans on Facebook and Twitter which ones I should go to and then took all of your suggestions and began. You guys were my tour guides! Two of my favorites were the RoseCliff and Marble House mansions.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Friday night I did a signing at Pier Liquors. I had so much fun. We sold out of all 54 cases of Ramona Pinot Grigio! It was amazing and my fans made it a great time. I even had two fans make me something very special!!   Here are a few photos but you can see many more (and possibly yourself!) on my Ramona Pinot Grigio Facebook page.

After the signing I went to the kick-off event, Uncorked and then off to dinner with Mario at 41 North. It was delicious! We had so much fun! We met a group of women who were there celebrating their a Bachelorette weekend. We all danced after dinner!  You should  have seen Mario and I dancing with everyone. We had a blast and were out until 1:00am!! We had to get as much sleep as we could because it was rise and shine early Saturday morning for brunch at Castle Hill. Such a beautiful and special place!!

After breakfast, we went on a yacht cruise for several hours.  The Azimut Yacht is a stunning brand new 78′.  There were 20 exclusively invited guests which included Chefs who were partaking in the festival. Newport is just so stunning, clean and beautiful. It was a perfect say to sail around. I met two fabulous chefs: Michael Ferraro of MacBar/Delicatessen in NYC and Brooke Vosika of Four Seasons in Boston. Michael shared a delicious recipe with me that I will share in my newsletter and I plan on visiting Brooke at his restaurant on my next trip to Boston! Great gentlemen!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I spent the afternoon eating food and tasting wine. Can’t complain! I had the best lobster roll from the Chef at the Viking hotel but without the roll LOL. That evening, I stopped by Vicker’s Liquors for an hour to do another tasting. It was actually a lot of fun for a different reason…we did it outside! I’ve never done one of my signings outside before so it was a nice change of pace!

 

 

After the signing, we went back to the festival where Ramona Pinot Grigio was being featured in the Grand Tasting! Mario and I poured the wine and socialized with other attendees and chefs! On Sunday morning, our weekend came to an end with a spectacular Chef Brunch.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ten thousand people attended this year’s Newport Wine Festival! It was so organized, fun and delicious! I absolutely can’t wait to go next year! Thank you to the great Michael Guinan who ran the festival. It was FANTASTIC!

 

 

3 Responses to “Newport Wine Festival 2011”

  1. SoutheastVA said

    I think Rose Cliff is beautiful too. Did you go to the Breakers at all?

  2. Kat Hibbard said

    I SO wish you’d come to Maine. You light up whatever place you’re at; I also wish I could find some of your wine to taste!! I’m not a “drinker” but a nice pinot before, during or after dining sounds soooooo good. If ever a person worked hard and deserved her good fortune, it’s you Ramona; you’ve proven what a truly remarkable woman you are. I’ve heard of cast shake-ups on RHONYC; as long as Team Blonde is back, I’m fine. All the best to you and your beautiful family!!!!

  3. zanne said

    Watching Red Eye on Fox news (can’t sleep) and they are talking about somewhere in the USA we (Meaning the tax payers) are building a turtle tunnel, I think you should take your wine and Alex and go dance turtle time when they get it finished. Be sure to let the news know because I want to see pictures

Leave a Reply

