First Post of 2013!

January 21, 2013

First post of 2013! I hope you all had a fabulous holiday and spent some quality time with your loved ones. My holidays were spent with my family and close friends….and some fun in the Anguilla sun 🙂

2012-12-16 14.35.16

photo (10)

Christmas was wonderful as usual. My favorite thing about Christmas is how traditional it is with our family. I love being in our home and doing what we do each year. Ever since Avery was a little girl, we would make sugar cookies together. I did the same with my Mom when I was little. I would do most of the work while Avery watched and then she would get to sprinkle on the sugar at the end. 18 years later the roles have reversed… Avery does most of the baking while I watch and then I get to sprinkle the sugar on at the end!

2012-12-23 19.30.47

2012-12-24 19.19.48

When I was pregnant with Avery, I was strolling down Madison Ave and saw 50% off Christmas ornaments. I purchased hundreds of dollars worth of ornaments. My husband looked at me like I was nuts but I told him, “These will be our first ornaments with Avery and we will keep them forever”. They are still my favorites and we hang them every year along with ones
we have added along the way.  They happened to be gold and burgundy, which who knew would end up being the colors in my Hamptons home where we spend Christmas now!

I always throw a pre-Christmas gathering so we can celebrate with our friends. I invite 20 of our nearest and dearest over and cook all of my signature dishes, some of which are pictured below. I really look forward to everything about this holiday season.

2012-12-22 21.53.54

 

Avery’s favorite Christmas gift this year was the new camera we bought her from Willoughby’s . She really takes beautiful pictures and has such a good eye! Most of the pictures below are from her new camera.

photo (9)

Once Christmas was over, Mario, Avery and I kicked off the New Year in Anguilla. It was so relaxing and was great to escape the cold weather of New York City for a little while. We stayed at the Viceroy Hotel… it was magical and the place had it all! We started all of our days on the hotel’s private beach (of course, that would be after Mario played a set of tennis and after our workout next to Paul McCartney!) We loved to just walk along the beach, splashing through the ocean.

photo (13)

photo (11)

The Viceroy has four nearby restaurants on the beach where we would have most of our meals. The bottom picture is at the restaurant called “Blanchard Beach Shack.” This is owned by the same owner as Blanchards, which is considered the best on the island. At the end of the day we would go to the Sunset Lounge near the Viceroy’s incredible infinity pool since the dress was casual and we could be lazy and stay in our cover ups. We wore some great bikinis…my favorites were from Diane Raulston’s collection.

photo (15)

DSC01427

DSC01552

New Years Eve was the best! Karmin performed and we danced the night away until 3am! Mario and I spent a lot of quality time with Avery, but we also had some alone time since a lot of Avery’s friends were there. This vacation was especially important to us as it was the last New Year’s vacation before Avery enters college this fall.

photo (7)

New Years Eve with Avery and her friend

 

 

photo (11)Family Photo Anguilla

I hope all of your dreams come true in 2013 and that you follow through will all of your New Year’s Resolutions! Mine is to not always take control and to relax a little more…hopefully I can follow through with it 🙂

Until next time…XOXO Ramona

4 Responses to “First Post of 2013!”

  1. Pamela Hogan said

    I love you guys! Avery is so beautiful. I feel like I have watched her grow up. What a great girl! Keep us posted on her college days. Love, Pam

  2. Essie Rae said

    Love seeing other traditions for the holidays:) It’s so cold here right now so your beach pics make me feel warmer. Glad to see you have a blog! I love blogging, but mine are about nail polish. Have a good day!

  3. Carolyn said

    Love your latest blog Ramona! Keep them coming! I am the same age as you and truly wished. Looked as good, but you inspire me! Take care x

  4. Robin Conrad Zahumensky said

    Great pictures!! What kind of camera did Avery receive? If she is going to study photography in color one of the best photography programs in the country is at Ohio University, Athens, Ohio. My daughter gradauted from there with a degree in photojournalism. It was some of the best years of her life.

Leave a Reply

