Homemade Flower Arrangements

May 20, 2013

Hello again!

A couple of weeks ago, we celebrated Avery’s birthday with a dinner party for her girlfriends at our home. I did the flower arrangements myself and many of you asked for details on how I did it!

Flowers are one of my passions. I love gardening at my Hamptons’ home, cutting fresh flowers, taking long walks through the flower district. Its a great thing to use some creativity. I wanted to move away from the classic arrangement for this party. Avery is young and fun so thats what I wanted to capture. I wanted the table to look eclectic! I spent an afternoon strolling through NYC’s Flower District which is located on 28th Street between 6th and 7th Ave. I picked up some green floral foam, exotic green leaves, crystal beads and a bunch of flowers. I went with pinks and purples but instead of the same type of flower I did multiple different types.

182BJ2AnC7CIAA-gjH

When I arrived home, I pulled together all different size vases. I cut the floral foam to fit each vase and then saturated the foam in water. While the foam was saturating, I cut all of the flowers to the sizes I wanted them to be in each vase. This is,of course, is a matter of preference. When the flowers were cut, I put the crystal beads at the bottom of each vase. I then took the saturated floral foam and wrapped it in the green leaves, placing them in each vase. Once this is complete, I began sticking the flowers into the foam.

185 186

188 189

When I have all the vases complete, I began placing them on the table. How you place them depends on the look you are going for but I decided to scatter them a bit instead of putting them in a straight line down the center of the table.

187photo

This is a really easy and fun way to make some different centerpieces. Avery was so happy with the final look and we had a great night!!

DSC02276

3 Responses to “Homemade Flower Arrangements”

  1. Carla Elwell said

    thanks much for taking the same to share.

  2. jessica blackwell said

    It looks great ramona

  3. juansemoncayo said

    These are great!! I really like them. Have you ever worked with farm direct flowers? Did you ever get your roses, out of Ecuador perhaps?

Leave a Reply

